Paying For College

As I’ve stated many times I am about to embark on my path as a high school senior. Which also means that next year at this time I will be heading into my freshman year of college. That also means I need to make money and apply for scholarships to help pay for college. I want to discuss how I plan to save money for college and housing as I plan to live in an apartment hopefully with my best friend.

Ways I want to make money

This Blog! 

I am fairly certain that if I start getting enough traffic on this blog, I will be able to make money. No, I do not want and have never wanted the main focus of this blog to be making money. I started this blog so I could share my thoughts and opinions with people. I just think that maybe it would be cool to do what I love (writing) and be able to save up for college at the same time.

YouTube

I’ve wanted to do YouTube videos for as long as I known what YouTube was. This has been a long time but I never got around to doing. Not only is it a good way to make a little pocket cash but it is also a good way to collect memories for me to look back on. (More on this subject in Friday’s post)

Joining the Work Force

At the beginning of summer, I submitted applications to a variety of places. I never got hired but I’m not letting it get to me. When I get back from my busy July month I will be applying for McDonald’s and hopefully get hired. The reason why I want to get hired there is that I want them to be my first job. They have an advertisement that says they aim to be the best first job so I hoping that when school starts up they’ll be able to adjust to my hectic theater schedule. (If you want more info on this just leave a comment below asking for an another post to explain this in more detail)

Mowing Lawns

I already do this for my Papa and Dad but because it doesn’t take much to fill my gas tank I believe that continuing this for as long as possible will be a great way to pay for gas. The only catch is days like today it’s 88 degrees and I have to wait for it to cool down so I don’t die of heat stroke.

How I want to have money

I’m sorry I didn’t know exactly how to word this so just please continue reading.

Scholarships 

I have full belief that these will be a lifesaver for me. I don’t come from a well off family or a family that wants to help me pay for college. I hope that I will be able to earn at least one scholarship but I don’t know which ones to apply for. So if you have some that I might be interested in applying to please leave them in the comments.

How I plan to save money

Roth IRA

My Marketing teacher told me about this and it seriously sounds like the best thing ever. It’s a saving account that gains interest but you are still able to touch what you put in there. However, they have this cool thing where you can’t touch the interest your money has made till you are 59 and half years old. Also when you are applying for financial aid you do not have to tell them about this account. The only catch is you have to have a way to prove that you made that money, your family members can’t just give you the start up funds.

I hope this post was helpful and maybe gave you guys some insight if you are starting college soon or just need to save money in general.

See you on Wednesday,

Haili

P.S. The featured image is NOT mine all rights go to the proper owners.

Leave a Reply

